This winter break travel to Canada was interesting and different because I do not look for touristy destination when I visit a city but in discover a used bookstore and local coffee roaster. I got some old interesting books from my discovery and a Montreal based coffee roaster; Saint-Henri Micro-torrefacteur Kenya coffee to bring home. I would like to share some of my best finds on the road. If you are into coffee and book, you will love to try looking for coffee and book trail when you travel, instead of a common and mainstream destination.

Halifax

1. Agora Cafe
2394 Agricola St, Halifax, NS B3K 4B9, Canada

They are famous with the turkish coffee, made by the Turkish owner, Kubo. Sue and Laurie, a friend of mine in Halifax who used to be the host family of Nithya & Kitty brought me here for brunch in my last day in Halifax before I leave to Charlottetown.

dscf0416

2. Halifax Public Library
Spring Garden Rd, Halifax, NS B3J 1E9, Canada

I sat in their coffeeshop inside the library for around 2 hours here with Melissa having a great conversation. The public library is beautiful and very cozy!

dscf0391dscf0384dscf0383

3. Java Blend Coffee Roasters
6027 North Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada, B3K 1N9

DSCF4944.JPG

4. Steve O’Reno Cappuccino 
1536 Brunswick St | Halifax Seaport Market | Halifax Forum Market

DSCF5344.JPGDSCF5045.JPG

5. The Last Word Bookstore
2160 Windsor St, Halifax, NS B3K 5B6, Canada

DSCF0413.JPG

6. Bookmark Bookstore
5686 Spring Garden Rd, Halifax, NS B3J 1H5, Canada

DSCF5167.JPG

Montreal

1. Cafe Myriad
1432 Rue Mackay, Montréal, QC H3G 2H7, Canada

I went to the one near McGill University. Not so much seating places, a lot of people take it on the go. They serve coffee roasted by Parallel and Ritual coffee roaster.

DSCF1484.JPG

2. Cafe Replika
252 Rue Rachel E, Montréal, QC H2W 1E5, Canada

Its sad that when we arrive here, they are already close. We hear this from our friend that they have a really good Turkish coffee. Next time!

DSCF0949.JPG

3. Saint-Henri Micro-Torrefacteur
3632 Rue Notre-Dame O, Montréal, QC H4C 1P5, Canada

I went here twice during my stay in Montreal because it so close to my friend house. I ended up buy their Kenyan coffee before I left to Boston. They roast their coffee themselves and you can smell and hear the roasting just nearby the barista counter. Their chocolate croissant is also delicious!

DSCF1517.JPG

4. Le Depanneur Cafe
206 Rue Bernard O, Montréal, QC H2T 2K4, Canada

Andy, a friend of mine who used to do Canada World Youth exchange program in Indonesia brought me here as we wander around Mile End. Located just in front of ‘Drawn and Quarterly’ bookstore and ‘Phonopolis’ record store, in Mile End area.. this cafe is one of the best you can have. Mile End is one of my favorite neighborhood in Montreal because of the hipster above hipster in Montreal. They always have indie musician play almost everyday as you can check the schedule in their website.

DSCF1482.JPG

5. Encore Bookstore
5670 Rue Sherbrooke O, Montréal, QC H4A 1W7, Canada

I have to admit that this is so far the best used bookstore and record store I’ve been into. Their collection is very high quality with not too expensive price. They display used books just like in a new bookstore, many categories. They also have a fine collection of rare and antique books from old time. I ask the bookseller where they got the book and they said that mostly people sell to them everyday (I witness two girl selling their fine used books, a lot of them and they pay $200 for them) and also sometime people die and donate/sell their books or their library collection. I got 3 books from here: “Footstep by Pramoedya Ananta Tour” that I gave to Emma as a gift, “The Culture of Simplicity” by Malcolm McLeod from the 1908, and “John Lennon, the story behind every song”.

DSCF1501.JPG

6. Librairie Drawn & Quarterly 
211 Rue Bernard O, Montréal, QC H2T 2K5, Canada

One of the best little new bookstore, they have also published their own graphic novel or book or comic. Very rare collection, I found a lot of Haruki Murakami books here too. I got a little poem book by Pablo Neruda from here.

DSCF0892.JPG

7. Librairie L’Exchange
713 Av. Mont-Royal Est Montréal, H2J1W7

Most of their collection are in French books, however I got an old printed version of “The Wizard of Oz” from here for only $3. One of my best find!

DSCF1450.JPG

8. The Word Bookstore
469 Rue Milton, Montréal, QC H2X 1W3, Canada

This is located nearby McGill University. A small used bookstore, a bit harder to find book you want as they don’t categorize or arrange the book easily. However, I got “Snow” by Orhan Pamuk for $5 here.

The Word Bookstore
Source: http://wordbookstore.ca

9. La Bouquinerie Du Plateau
799 Avenue du Mont-Royal E, Montréal, QC H2J 1W9, Canada

Me and Emma wander around Saint-Denis one evening and we went do the “store-hopping”, one of the two bookstores in Saint-Denis is this one. Very good collection in mostly french books. I got a friend “Tin-tin En Amerique”old version in French from here.

DSCF1452.JPG

10. Librairie D’Astro
1844 Ste.Catherine St.W. Montreal, Que, Canada H3H 1M1

I got “The White Masaai” book for $5 here. They have rich collection on comic, Japanese manga, and non-fiction books. Located in the area of McGill University, being around with a lot of Asian restaurants and vibe.

DSCF1496.JPG

Ottawa

1. Happy Goat Coffee
35 Rue Laurel St, Ottawa, ON K1Y 2E6, Canada

One of the highlight of my trip! Another serendipity on the road meet me with Hans and Clyde, two passionate coffee roasters in Happy Goat! Their job is to make sure we drink a good quality of coffee through their roasting. Hans has been around the world looking for best coffee beans since 2010. He knew a lot about Indonesia coffee and he make us taste the Sumatra Lintong coffee with Chemex pour over filter. We plan to stay for a bit before heading to catch my train to Montreal and Adi & Arlene’s flight to Boston. But I ended up talking to Hans longer than I expected and we share contact since Hans has an interesting project about coffee roasting from origin country. I really want to come back again soon! “You can spend your whole life for coffee.” Hans quoted when he describe his journey working with coffee. That afternoon, I share my dream to create one in Indonesia.

DSCF1371.JPGDSCF1374.JPG

DSCF1380.JPG
Hans (left with glasses & laptop) and Clyde
DSCF1385.JPG
Clyde seriously watch his roasting
DSCF1389.JPG
They roast Ethiopia Sidamo that afternoon. I taste one with Chemex as Hans recommend me since I told him I love the high acidity coffee, and I love this!

2. The Ministry of Coffee
279 Elgin St, Ottawa, ON K2P 1M1, Canada

We stay in an airbnb that close to this coffeeshop. A very attractive name and the coffee is good too!

ministry of coffee.jpg
Source: Edible Ottawa

3. Black Squirrel Books
1073 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario

This is total awesome! Thus I put 3 photos for them. I love this bookstore who has a coffee as well. Their curation on book selection is wonderful! They are all used, rare, unique, and categorized by writer and type of books. Don’t forget to go down to the downstairs, you will be amaze on how many collection they have. They are loved by the community in Ottawa and they bring them together in a seasonal music performance inside their place. Close to what I imagine of a bookstore I wanted to own. I would love to come back!

DSCF1162.JPGDSCF1167.JPGDSCF1165.JPG

DSCF1153.JPG

 

For my love of coffee and book, to infinity and beyond! 🙂

Leave a Reply

